Why Matt Haig is my fave.

Hello! It’s been a little while (by my standards). I’ve been so busy for the past couple of weeks. Travelling to Yeovil, Plymouth and London for various reasons, and generally having a lot of little things on. Pair this with my lack of motivation and slight depressed-ness, and that’s why I’ve not written for a while.

I’ve had this post planned for a long time, but today is the perfect day to finally write it. It’s Matt Haig’s birthday! So without further ado, let me explain to you why this amazing human being deserves his own blog post.

Matt Haig, I should mention, is an author. I first heard about him around this time last year. My sister, Chlo, told me I should read this amazing book that she had just finished. That book was Reasons to Stay Alive. I thought it sounded good, and I took it on holiday to Lanzarote with me. I finished it on the flight there – I could not put it down! I’ve read it at least once since then (about a month later), if not twice.

Screenshot 2017-07-03 at 16.08.02
Raving about the book on my Instagram!

It’s a personal account of Matt Haig’s struggles with mental illness. How said struggles began, how they progressed, how he copes, and how he got to where he is today.

As someone who also struggles with mental health issues (depression, OCD, anxiety, skin picking), I cannot even begin to stress how important it was for me to have read such an honest, real portrayal of mental illness. A year ago, I was still very much lost in the depths of my mental illnesses. Reasons to Stay Alive was one of the first things that flicked a switch in my brain – it made me realise that perhaps I wasn’t going to be like this forever. Perhaps things could change for me, as they had for Matt.

People in the public eye speaking out about their mental health makes a huge difference in helping others do the same. Reading Reasons to Stay Alive has helped me to become more open about my own mental health. In the depths of my depression, I found it hard to talk to anyone, let alone the entire internet. Matt helping me made me want to do the same for others, hence my frequent mental health postings on social media, as well as this blog.

Reading any of Matt’s books, but especially Reasons to Stay Alive, has given me such a warm, comforting feeling. Like an imaginary hug and someone patting you on the head telling you that it’s going to be alright. I couldn’t ask for any more from a book.

Screenshot 2017-07-03 at 16.29.25
Raving about it some more on my Goodreads!

If you’re struggling (and even if you’re not), please read Reasons to Stay Alive. I don’t even think I’ve ever actually come across someone who didn’t love it! I’m sure that it will continue to help change lives.

Matt is also a fantastic fiction writer! I have read The Humans and The Radleys. Both amazing books. I recommend you give them a go, too. I have plenty others by him on my to-read list! His latest book, How to Stop Time, is out this week. I pre-ordered it back in March and I am BUZZING for it to arrive so I can wolf it down in one sitting!

Happy Birthday, Matt. Thank you for everything. ❤

(On a side note, Matt tweets about super interesting things. Follow him on Twitter @matthaig1)

2 Replies to “Why Matt Haig is my fave.”

Leave a Reply

